About Rotary Club of Kottayam

About Us

The Rotary Club of Kottayam is one of the most prestigious clubs in Rotary District 3211 with a rich legacy. The club was formed with the efforts of Rtn PP Hassan Marikar of Trivandrum club who was appointed as GSR. Mr PT Thomas Palampadan a planter of repute and former Municipal Chairman was the Charter president and Mr PD Kuruvilla IAS and Mr Thomas Vellappally were the Charter secretaries.

The club was chartered on 6/6/1951 and the charter was formally presented on 21/12/1951.

Over the years, the club has reinvented itself whilst remaining true to the core Rotary ideals that led to its formation. Five of its members have become Governors namely Rtn Varkey George (D 321, 1972-73), Rtn Jacob Thomas (D 321,1984-85), Rtn A I Abraham (D 321,1990-91), Rtn George Mathew (D 3211,2008-09) and Rtn Babu Chacko (D3211, 2011-12).

The club initially used to meet at CMS college and subsequently shifted to its present location at the Rotary Centre at Kodimatha which was built and completed in the years 1987-89.

The club has excelled in doing major service projects which have been of great help to the community and society at large. You can hear from many of the stalwarts who led these projects in the section "Thoughts from our stalwarts".

Copyright © Rotary Club of Kottayam. All rights reserved.

Powered by : Dom & Dom